General knowledge:: Honours and Awards



The journalist who refused to accept 'Padma Bhushan' was?

A. Shekaran Nair B. Khushwant Singh
C. Ratan Thiyam D. Arun Shourie


The 'Cannes Award' is given for excellence in which field?

A. Films B. Journalism
C. Literature D. Economics


'Ashoka Chakra' is awarded for

A. acts of gallantry in the presence of enemy B. gallantry by children
C. outstanding contribution to literature D. the most conspicuous bravery or self sacrifice on land, air or sea but not in the presence of the enemy


The first Indira Gandhi Award for International Justice and Harmony has been given to

A. Larry Pressler B. Amnesty International
C. Hussain Ibrahim Zaki D. Yasser Arafat


The Arjuna Awards were instituted in the year

A. 1965 B. 1961
C. 1963 D. 1957

Page 6 of 9